Wakefield Interfaith Food Pantry Celebrates Volunteers, New and Retiring Board Members

The focus of the recent Board of Directors Meeting of the Wakefield Interfaith Food Pantry (WIFP) was celebrating the volunteers as well as current and retiring Board Members and welcoming two new Board members.

President of the Board, Wendy Dennis greeted attendees to the meeting and oversaw the swearing in ceremony for accepting the group of officers and members.  (A complete list of Board members can be found on the WIFP website, www.wifoodpantry.org.)

New members, Richard Greif and Annie Duvall, were welcomed to the group and the slate of officers for a one-year term were elected:

·       Wendy Dennis, President

·       Susan Bernard, Vice President

·       Julie Theriault, Treasurer

·       Joanne Turco, Clerk

“The hardest part of about this particular meeting was to say good-bye to two of our retiring board members, Beth Hendriks and Judy Gordon,” said Dennis.  “For years they’ve share their energy, wisdom and enthusiasm in helping the WIFP serve our neighbors in need which is why we wanted to take the time to recognize their dedication and service.”

Maureen Miller, WIFP Operations Director, also presented the Harriet Winsor Volunteer of the Year Award to Debbie Jones, WIFP Shift Leader.  This special award is presented to a volunteer or volunteers who have demonstrated exceptional performance, personal commitment and dedication to the food pantry, and whose interactions with clients and volunteers are consistently professional and an inspiration to others.

“This achievement recognizes volunteers who consistently perform above and beyond the call of duty. Debbie has been an integral part of our operations since moving to the new location in 2010.  With her expertise and dedication we are able to provide a wide variety of nutritious food to those who come through our doors with dignity and respect,” said Miller.

Leave a Reply